I Have Been Blessed

All about how God has blessed me. In my marriage, with my six children, through homeschooling, and our faith with recipes, large family living, and updates on our life.

Uncover Exciting History

on August 31, 2012

My darling eleven year old son would like a Kindle for Christmas. And I am as-of-yet undecided about it. What I love about it is that there are SO MANY educational applications and books available!  Recently, I have been able to review such an e-book on my personal Kindle. Golden Prarie Press has allowed us the chance to review Uncover Exciting History, by Amy Puetz.

This book has 25 Chapters, with four Bonus Chapters, with each chapter offering short  stories (about 5-6 pages each) about Christian Heritage topics such as Christopher Columbus, The Story of the Constitution, The Mexican War, The Oregon Trail, The Pony Express, The Navajo Code Talkers, Marco Polo (and so many more). After each story is a Digging Deeper Section that offers questions, and activities to further investigate into the topics.

Cautiously, I allowed Brendyn to borrow my Kindle and read this book, as he has a genuine love and interest for ANYTHING History-related.

I am going to interject quickly to say, my son likes History, and I as a general rule do not …. Unfortunate, I know…. However, this only presents a problem when upon instances like this, where my son finds it necessary to tell me all the “exciting” facts he learns while reading “fascinating” history. For instance, Chapter Eight, “Crossing the Delaware” here is the conversation.

“Mom, you know the Battle of Trenton?”

Me: “No”

“You know, during the Revolutionary War?”

Me: Um, yeah, okay.

“George Washington didn’t lose any men and the other guys lost 21 guys, 90 were wounded, and 900 were taken captive. Can you believe that?”

Me: Yeah, wow!

He enjoyed the book, and the stories were short enough that I could “lend” him my Kindle for short periods of time to allow him to read the stories. This book sells for $11.96 as an E-book, available in Kindle, Nook, or PDF format. Or as an illustrated print book for $15.96.

We did receive this free in exchange for this review. We are so blessed.

 

Leave a Reply

