I Have Been Blessed

All about how God has blessed me. In my marriage, with my six children, through homeschooling, and our faith with recipes, large family living, and updates on our life.

Who is My Neighbor

on July 16, 2012

A few months ago, we got the opportunity to review for Apologia and I loved their Bible curriculum! Loved it! So, when I saw Volume 3 – Who is My Neighbor and Why Does He Need Me? I prayed to get the opportunity to review this one as well. I am picky. I probably shouldn’t put that out there for the entire world to see, but there it is. I am picky. Picky about the Bible curriculum my kids are using, learning from, etc.

In fact, I was talking recently (before receiving this review) about being *tired* of Bible Curriculums that focus on Bible stories. While I think they are important, at some point, we got to the point where my kids knew them. I particularly wanted a curriculum that taught my kids what to do with what  they had learned. How to apply it. How it looks in real life. And while I do my best to give them that as their parent, I longed for a curriculum where that was the focus. And then I received this book! (Or to be precise – the Book, the Notebooking Journal, and the Coloring Book!)

The book is recommended for ages 6-14 and costs $39. There are eight lessons in the book – Does Anyone Really Need Me, How Can I Make a Difference, Who is My Neighbor, Why did God make Families, What can I do for my Country, Why can’t we All just Get Along, Who is God’s Family, Why does the Church Need Me – that is some great stuff! This book helps them focus on being the “salt” and “light” in this world.

The front of the Notebooking Journal ($24) contains a Sample Lesson Plan, which when done three times a week, would take sixteen weeks. Or done every day, would take just a little over 9 weeks. It includes questions, vocabulary, word searches, mini books, Prayer pages, Praise Report Pages, Verse Memorization (and that’s all in the first twenty pages!) The coloring book ($8) is great for smaller children to reinforce what they have learned and as a nice keepsake.

We loved this curriculum! We did receive this free in exchange for an honest review.

We have been blessed!

One response to “Who is My Neighbor

  1. Toni Cintron says:

    I was feeling the same way and have been looking fro a curriculum that goes farther than the bible stories in which my children already know about. I wanted to find something that will challenge them to take their relationship deeper, apply it to their lives and teach what the Word says about what God expects of them. Thank you for sharing. I would love to see this and look at it personally. It just might be the choice we use for this year.

Leave a Reply

