I Have Been Blessed

All about how God has blessed me. In my marriage, with my six children, through homeschooling, and our faith with recipes, large family living, and updates on our life.

Too Young

on June 8, 2012

I was four years old and two months when I understood that I was a sinner. When I understood that NOTHING I could do could pay the debt of my sin. That I was on my way to hell. I was not that old, but I understood the importance of believing on Jesus, and asking him into my heart, and asking Him to be my Saviour. November 11, 1984 is the day I sat on the bottom bunk of mine and my sister’s bunk bed and asked my Daddy to pray with me. When I asked him how to make Jesus my Saviour. It was a Sunday night. But, I grew up in church. We even lived on the church property for a very short time, and then moved across the street from the church. Daddy went to college there. Mom taught at the Christian school. Church was our life. Jesus was our friend.

In 26 years (Yes, I am thirty!), I have never once doubted my salvation. I’ve been under some great preachers. (Even heard Jack Hyles once). I have studied my Bible. I have been a Soul-Winner, Door-Knocker, Sunday School Teacher, Jr. Church Worker, Bus Worker, Nursery Worker, Ladies Lesson Giver, Teen Worker. I have taught my kids the Word of God. Two of my children have accepted the Lord as their Saviour. And I have never once doubted my Salvation.

After Austin and I were married, HE was convinced that four was TOO YOUNG. He doubted my salvation. He didn’t think I could truly be saved. I begged and pleaded with the Lord. “If Austin could in any way be right, If my salvation was in any way in jeopardy because of age, I begged God to show me, to convict me, to pull me.” And I never once doubted my Salvation.

Because it’s not age. It’s not knowing all the answers to catechism. It’s not being able to explain it to another living soul. It’s not saying a specific prayer. It’s not a feeling of being bad and wanting to be good. It is belief. Pure and simple. The Bible says, “If thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine hear that God hath raised him from the dead, thou SHALT BE SAVED. For with the heart man believeth unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation. For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.” (Romans 10:9, 10, 13 – emphasis mine), All we have to do is Believe and then Confess.

My little girl is starting to question. She is starting to feel the pull. She is starting to understand. And I pray with all that I have that when it clicks, she comes to her Mama or her Daddy to pray. It’s the most important decision she will ever make in her life and I am in her corner cheering her (silently) on!

I am so Blessed.

Five special blessings to me today: My Salvation, That Jesus Paid the Price, That Jesus freed me from the bondage of sin, That I am able to share the gospel, That you’re never Too Young

2 responses to “Too Young

  1. Pam Brown says:

    Christina, you are such an awesome young woman. Thank you for sharing your heart with others and please know that we will be praying for your precious child who is under the conviction of the Holy Spirit. She is blessed to have you living the example before her so she sees Christ in you, and in your family. God bless you all today and always.!!!!!

Leave a Reply

