I Have Been Blessed

All about how God has blessed me. In my marriage, with my six children, through homeschooling, and our faith with recipes, large family living, and updates on our life.

Exceeding Abundantly

on April 3, 2012

God is “able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us,” It’s one of my favorite verses. Ephesians 3:20. I say this a lot and it has truly become the theme for my life right now, but I AM SO BLESSED – Exceeding Abundantly BLESSED. You know what I like about that verse the “think” part. I would have never asked God for six children. Ten years ago, I wouldn’t have asked to be a stay-at-home Mom. I would never thought to ask, but HE is able to do more than I ask for, and more than I can even think of!! And because I have chosen to trust Him, He has blessed me in more ways that I can name, and in at least six ways I can (Brendyn, Tyler, Madelynne, Adreya, Wyatt, Cassidy).

I feel like I have had a heart change since having Cassidy. Something about having her switched the flip in me that makes me feel differently, makes me look at things differently. My kids didn’t change. Their behaviour hasn’t changed. Their attitudes haven’t changed. Our schedule hasn’t really changed. So, it has to be me. I’ve changed. God has helped me to be more thankful for these wild creatures in my home called children. He has given me more grace, more mercy, more (gasp!!) patience! No to say we don’t have rough days, because we do! But, somehow the rough days seem more worth it. I have been given these children as a gift. God entrusted me with them! God knew I could handle it. He knew me better than me!

Brendyn is having Spring Break this week with his Dad and is not home. Without my biggest helper, I decided I didn’t want to brave the grocery store with the five younger ones, so I went last night – by myself! I even timed it right, where I could leave the baby at home. When I was driving home last night, listening to the quietness of my vehicle, I was recollecting on the days that I used to do all my grocery shopping alone (when Austin was home), and how I needed those times of being alone and refreshing. Remembering how on some weeks I seriously thought about forgetting things on purpose just so I could go shopping twice in a week. Wal-Mart used to be my vacation spot! My place for solace. Last night, it was lonely! I missed not having the kids to talk to in the truck, or to sing songs with. I missed not having Wyatt to play with as he sat in the front seat of the buggy. I missed not feeling the baby close to me, wrapped in the sling as I walked through the store. I missed Adreya’s sweet way of smiling at waving at strangers, and the way Madelynne and Tyler toss (non-breakable) groceries back and forth. I missed Brendyn chatting with me through the store.

What has happened to me? I have always felt that I enjoyed my children. Loved them! But I also, at times, couldn’t wait for it to be someone else’s turn! I remember a particularly rough patch when Wyatt was a baby, and I (jokingly) told Austin that I was going to run away from home! (He told our PAstor I said that, by the way, and I think our Pastor believed it for a while!)

Maybe it is seeing the love our children have for Cassidy, or their quickness to help do anything they can for her. Maybe it is me, having energy. Maybe it was the realization I could handle six kids by myself, all day, without pulling out my hair, needing vacations at Wal-Mart, or running away from home! Whatever triggered the change, I am thankful for it and in prayer that is lasts. In the meantime, I’ve got kids to play with!

I am Exceeding Abundantly Blessed!!

Five Special Blessings to Me Today: In-laws ( I am thankful for the Lee family I married into, another Blessing I wouldn’t even have thought to ask for), A baby that sleeps through the night (we are consistently getting 6-8 hours a night and that is definitely something to be thankful for!), A hard-working husband, A working washer, dryer, dishwasher, etc (All modern conveniences that allow me even more time with my kids!), and God (who is able to do exceeding abundantly more than I can ask or think)

2 responses to “Exceeding Abundantly

  1. Amanda says:

    great post, I know how you feel about thinking you were enjoying them and then realizing there is so much more to enjoy about them. Over time I enjoy my kids more and more. I actually tackled CATO’s with them and enjoyed it. Still working on Walmart. I know God is my reason for getting more patience and enjoyment over time with the kids. I wish it clicked more for me like you, maybe I should pray about that.

  2. tonya says:

    I love this post. It is amazing how God can give you piece and contempment.

Leave a Reply

