I Have Been Blessed

All about how God has blessed me. In my marriage, with my six children, through homeschooling, and our faith with recipes, large family living, and updates on our life.

The Biggest Boy

on March 19, 2012

On Saturday, our Leprechaun turned eleven. It is so easy for me in my mind’s eye to still remember him Wyatt’s age! Eleven seems like a good number though. He is so capable and helpful, but not in the rebellious teenage years! Yesterday, all our boys got haircuts (he now qualifies as an ‘adult’ haircut!), and I had such clarity about ELEVEN. While Austin was getting his haircut, and I was dealing with Wyatt (praying internally that he would let the lady cut his hair), it was nice to know I had Big Brother Brendyn to hold Cassidy. He is not like the littler ones, who will come over and stare and are attracted to her like a magnet, but while he sat there and held her, he ran his big fingers down her arm, and let her curl her fist around his finger. He looked at her and cooed at her, and I knew she was safe with her big brother, and I could focus on Wyatt’s haircut.

Image

Brendyn at two and a half (the age Wyatt is now)

Wyatt (for his bribe, oops, I mean reward) got a lollipop after his haircut. While walking around Wal-Mart, he dropped it, and we threw it away. On the way home he fell asleep and must have been dreaming he still had it, because when he woke up, he was frantically looking for it, and crying …”My Lollipop, My Lollipop…” In that same moment, I could recall Brendyn at the same age…fell asleep with Lolli in hand. In his slumber I gently tugged it out of his hand, so it didn’t end up in his hair or poking him in his eye, and he woke up the same way, searching. It was like Deja Vu. And I think Wyatt favors Brendyn a little bit anyways. What do you think??

For Brendyn’s birthday, he chose to go to The Melting Pot (good choice, as it is also Mommy’s favorite!) We ate like kings and had very full bellies afterwards!! He also got to go out to dinner with Grammy on his cowboy-boots-and-hat shopping trip, and then again as a family to Sonny’s, because he wanted Ribs!

We went to the Flea Market today, and it was so funny to me to see people count the kids. You’d see their eyes dart from kid-to-kid, tallying them up and get to six, and get that wide-eyed look that usually means they think I am crazy! But I know the truth! I am blessed! Blessed with six beautiful, healthy children, who I get to spend every day with. Who make my life full, and my heart fuller!

One response to “The Biggest Boy

  1. our12stones says:

    I always enjoy reading your blog! Another great post. If I remember correctly, I met Brendyn (and you!) when he was between 2 1/2 and 3. I knew instantly I’d be happy if my brother married you, and I was ready to “adopt” Brendyn as my nephew, too. 🙂 So blessed to have you both! We love you all!!!

Leave a Reply

