I Have Been Blessed

All about how God has blessed me. In my marriage, with my six children, through homeschooling, and our faith with recipes, large family living, and updates on our life.

Starting off right

on January 10, 2012

I think there is a desire in most of us to “be the best we can be”. I know I am always striving to see how I can improve – being a better Wife, A better Mom, a better friend, sister, daughter, Christian. I am trying to be diligent in my Bible Study, using a Modified technique I saw here. They use the SOAP approach to Bible Study. For their “S’ – they actually write out the Scripture (they are beginning a Bible Study in Ephesians on Monday), but for mine I am just writing down my daily devotional piece (right now in Genesis). The “O” is an Observation. The “A” is application, and then the “P’ is to pray over what you have read. I am hoping this approach to my Through-the-Bible-in-a-year will not only keep me accountable, but also keep in my mind longer and throughout the day what I have read. It focuses me to try to find the hidden treasures in God’s Word.

I am also doing an online Study with a group, originated from Treasures from a Shoebox. They are going through the Book, Created to Be His Helpmeet. I have read this book once, and have referenced it a couple of times, but am excited to be doing an online study with what looks to be like a great group of Women.

The third thing going on in my bag of tricks is reading through Teach Them Diligently, and beginning using charts I bought from Doorposts, to focus the children’s misbehavior back to the Bible. Showing them that rules aren’t just arbitrary things came up with by mean parents, but actually commands from God. In this, the goal is that the children learn to draw closer to God by obeying Him first!

It really has been a great 2012 so far! And we are looking forward to everything this year has for us. Especially Baby Cassidy who will be joining our family soon (27 days!!!) I hope your year has started off right for you and that you already see God’s Blessings.

I know We have Been Blessed!

Five Special Blessings to Me Today: God’s Word, My Salvation, My Wonderful Husband, My Beautiful Children, Baby # 6 Coming Soon!

One response to “Starting off right

  1. Amy says:

    A great book Gabe and I read about Biblical childrearing is “Shepherding a Child’s Heart” by Tedd Tripp. The author focuses on how to speak to the heart of your child, moving beyond the behavior alone to what issues are flowing out of his heart. I highly recommend it!

    I love hearing about what you’re learning and doing! Love you!

Leave a Reply

