I Have Been Blessed

All about how God has blessed me. In my marriage, with my six children, through homeschooling, and our faith with recipes, large family living, and updates on our life.

High Regard, Low Pay

on October 19, 2011

The job of being a stay at home mom has been on my heart and mind a lot lately. Probably a lot to do with the fact that Austin is now working outside of the home and working a lot (a LOT!), which means it’s just me and the kids. Full time. Non Stop. It’s been an adjustment for me.

I was very spoiled in the fact that Austin was home and available and I didn’t have to take the children to the grocery store, to the bank, to the doctor’s office. I had the flexibility to go out for lunch, take a shopping day, or just walk around Walmart slowly, relaxing in the fact that I could breathe and finish all the thoughts in my head without interruption.

Too many times people either feel sorry for the Stay-at-Home-Mom or feel superior to them. I’ve been in both those positions more times than I can count. I read a book recently that pointed out that you should enjoy whatever place you are in right now. I am guilty of always looking forward to what is coming next – the next birthday, the next holiday, the baby being born, Austin coming home from work!!

I look so forward to what’s coming that I forget to enjoy what’s here, now, in front of me. There is nothing to feel sorry for me about. I could work if I wanted to. I have before. I could again. I could send my kids off to school and daycare. But that isn’t what God has called me, or our family to. And being right where God wants me to, is the most superior place I can be.

It’s been a rough 2 weeks, adjusting to these new routines, and on top of it, all five of them are sick. I should be going crazy by now, and maybe a little bit of me is – the part that can’t cook dinner without tripping on a kid, or go to the bathroom without someone knocking on the door. But I have also decided that I am going to do all I can to just enjoy my kids.

I am going to be thankful. Thankful I am home with them, that I get to homeschool them. That I get to teach them. That I can have a hug or kiss whenever I want it. That, especially with them being sick, I can get lots and lots of cuddling in! That I can hold them tight, smell their clean hair, kiss them on their foreheads and just take a deep breath and be thankful that God allowed me to be their Mommy. That is the job with the highest regard! And one I don’t want to take for granted.

I am SO Blessed.

Five Special Blessings to me Today: Brendyn, Tyler, Madelynne, Adreya, Wyatt

Leave a Reply

