I Have Been Blessed

All about how God has blessed me. In my marriage, with my six children, through homeschooling, and our faith with recipes, large family living, and updates on our life.

Family First

on October 18, 2011

So many times, God has shown me over and over that Family is supposed to be a priority. The relationships we have with our family should come first before service to others, before our friend relationships, before ourselves. I was thinking about the first family. The first relationship that should take priority is our relationship with God. When that relationship is ‘right’, it is just easier to get all our other relationships right. The second relationship priority is to our spouse, as a wife, as a husband. This is really clear all throughout the NT and the OT. The third relationship that God set up is Parent to Child and vice versa. I don’t think that relationship goes away when you’re older. It changes and other relationships take priority (for me, that to my husband, and to my own children, but then to my parents). I am still supposed to do what I can to maintain that relationship. But to my point now, the fourth relationship set up by God was that of a sibling.

When I got pregnant with Adreya, I wanted her to be a girl so much, because I wanted Madelynne to have a sister. In my head, the relationship they have with each other, could be one of the best of their lives. I want to teach my children that their family relationships come first. Before our service, before our friends, before life gets ‘too busy’ and we don’t have time for each other.

I John 4:21 says, “And this commandment have we from him. That he who loveth God love his brother also.”

What if God truly judged how much we love Him, by how much we love our brothers (or sisters). My prayer today is that I teach my children to honor their family. Both their parental relationships and their sibling relationships. And that I be the kind of sister that God would be proud of.

Five Special Blessings to me Today: That God lays something on your heart, That I have sisters, That I have sisters-in-law who treat me like a sister!!, That my children have siblings, that I can pray and ask God to help me in my weaknesses.

One response to “Family First

  1. Rachel says:

    Hey there! I’ve given your the blog the Liebster Blog Award!

    Read about it on my blog
    http://www.wewillwalkforeverholdinghands.blogspot.com

    Rachel đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

