I Have Been Blessed

All about how God has blessed me. In my marriage, with my six children, through homeschooling, and our faith with recipes, large family living, and updates on our life.

Trail Mix

on August 25, 2011

For Tyler’s Birthday party, we had a make-your-own Trail Mix station. I was impressed with how well it turned out, and I can definitely see myself doing something like this again!

The kids started at one side of the table with a pint sized jar and a label with their name on it. (If I would have been more prepared, I would have made a decorated label instead of just written a name, maybe something to go with the Cowboy Birthday Theme.) Anyhow, once they had their jars, I had the different food items in different sized bowls for them to scoop out. For the filler stuff that I had a lot of (Cheerios, Gold fish, etc.) we used a 1/4 cup scoop, for other stuff we used a tablespoon or teaspoon.

This is what we had around the table: Cheerios, Banana Chips, Mini Marshmallows, Golden Raisins, Teddy Grahams, Shredded Coconut, Kix Cereal, Peanuts, Mini M&Ms, Sunflower Kernels, Goldfish, Dried Apples, Bagel Crisps, and Mini Pretzels.

After they went completely around the table, some kids had a full jar, they capped it, shook it, and were good to go. Other kids made another trip around to make a fuller jar. It turned out quite well and I was happy with it!

I am so Blessed!

Five Special Blessings to Me Today: Birthday Parties, Friends that care enough to come help us celebrate our children with us, Love, a Big Family, Children that keep getting older!

Leave a Reply

