I Have Been Blessed

All about how God has blessed me. In my marriage, with my six children, through homeschooling, and our faith with recipes, large family living, and updates on our life.

Expectations

on August 11, 2011

This is an area I definitely have a problem in, and as most problems are, it’s most likely a sin problem. I have expectations of how things “should” go, how people “should” respond, what other people “should” do. I get this decision that since I would …, other people “should” do, respond, react, consider, etc. the same way.
But not only is that not life, and not how things work, that’s not Faith. And it’s judging how someone else “should” do things. It’s only my responsibility to make sure I am doing what I need to do, responding how I need to respond, reacting rightly, considering righteously. But too often (so very too often) I get stuck in this thinking that because I feel this way, they “should” feel this way. Because I think x is y, they “should” think x is y, and I am often disappointed because of my own expectations.
I am sometimes hurt because of my own expectations. I need to let other people be themselves instead of trying to put them into my script. I need to take things as they come, evaluating each situation based on itself, not based on the comparison to how I think it “should” have went.
Because the truth is, I would be even happier! And happier is even better than happy!

Have a Blessed and Happy Day!

Five Special Blessings to Me Today: That God gives me each day my daily bread (exactly what I need, exactly when I need it), God answers prayers, God can solve any problem with a simple word (Trust), I can bring my failures to Him and he will help me, God loves me through my faults.

And as a P.S. I saw this on a Blog, and it really resonated with me:
“If you think my hands are full, you should see my heart!”

2 responses to “Expectations

  1. Expectations is something I struggle with too. One thing I realized is that reacting to my unmet expectations is not being very accepting of the other person. Learning acceptance of everyone, and everything, has brought so much freedom. Acceptance isn’t saying that bad is good, and good is good. But it’s loving the other person unconditionally. For me it’s hard to accept the good with the bad, but that’s what acceptance is. Great post! I love that last quote too! 🙂

  2. Jennifer says:

    I love this post. I have been there, still am at times.

Leave a Reply

