I Have Been Blessed

All about how God has blessed me. In my marriage, with my six children, through homeschooling, and our faith with recipes, large family living, and updates on our life.

Patty Pan Squash Recipes

on May 27, 2011

While scouring the internet for Patty Pan Squash, I found very little in the realms of recipes. I am not sure whether Patty Pan, or Scallop Squash is a Northern thing or a Southern thing. This is the second year we have grown them, and thus, I have had to learn how to cook them.

Tyler helps pick Patty Pan Squash

Here are my 3 favorite ways.

1. Wash it and slice it, and cut it. Put a pat of butter in a skillet. Add the squash. Add garlic, and seasonings (I use 1 tsp Oregano, Parsley, and Basil). Add any or none of the following, depending on what you have and what you like (Onions, Yellow Squash, Zucchini, Japanese Eggplant, Green Tomatoes). Cook until everything is super tender. (Stirring once in while.) Serve over Brown Rice. Top with Parmesan Cheese. – This is the way we most often have it, because it is a great way to use lots of ‘leftover’ vegetables at once.

2. Patty Pan squash has all its seeds in the center, underneath the stem. Especially if you can get a couple

Even Adreya helps pick Squash

with some size, hollow out that center. Mix together a meatloaf-type mix (Ground beef, egg, bread crumbs), or a Sausage mix – cook this separately.

 

 Once the meat is cooked, stuff it into the PattyPan, and cook it in the oven set at 350 for about 25 minutes. Eat and enjoy. (Unless your pattypan is very big, and the skin is thick and tough, the skin is okay to eat.)

 

Choice 3. We haven’t tried this yet, but I am planning on it soon. A customer told me about this one! Take the Pattypan and clam-shell it (cut it across its middle, where the top is still whole and the bottom is still whole, but don’t cut all the way through. Push some butter pats and brown sugar in the opening. Close it. Wrap it tight with aluminum foil and then either:

A)Throw it in a 400 degree oven for about 20 minutes or so (Note: *Actual ‘throwing’ not recommended)

B) Throw it in a Campfire for about 20 minutes.

Open and enjoy – We will be trying this soon! If you try it before me, leave a comment and let me know if you loved it!

Five Special Blessings to Me Today: Fresh Vegetables, New Recipes, The Farm, My Husband and Father-in-law who work very hard at that Farm, the internet to give me and idea about what I am supposed to do with these strange-looking vegetables they bring home (Pattypans, Japanese Eggplant, Kohlrabi), Sunshine

Have A Blessed Day!

 
Leave a Reply

