I Have Been Blessed

All about how God has blessed me. In my marriage, with my six children, through homeschooling, and our faith with recipes, large family living, and updates on our life.

Potty Training

on May 17, 2011

I hate potty training. I am not the expert, but somehow I have successfully potty-trained three kids, and am now starting on the long process towards number four! It’s kind of thrilling to think about having only ONE child left in diapers. I can easily remember having three in diapers, two in diapers has been my reality for over four years, ONE in diapers, I don’t remember what that’s like.

I guess as a Mom, especially when the number of children really start outnumbering you, you make your own strategies and plans about the best way to handle things. The best way to not lose your sanity! I think that is where I am with potty training. I have found that when a kid is ready, they are ready. And no matter how many million times I sit them on the potty, change pull-ups and wet underwear, offer rewards, make games out of it, ignore it, etc. they are not going to potty train until they decide they want to!

With Brendyn, We were working on it, His daycare was working on it, and it went on and on……Then Austin and I got married and went on our honeymoon. (Gasp! Mommy left him for one whole week!!!!) The night we got home from our honeymoon, he got up in the middle of the night, went potty, took off his pull-up, got on some underwear, and never had an accident again. It was a great, although unintentional, Success!!!! (If only I could go for a week now! Sigh! Wishful thinking!)

The same thing happened with both Tyler and Madelynne, once they got it and decided to be “on board” with the whole potty thing, the training part took less than a week. So, I worked out the plan with Madelynne, and now We are starting it with Adreya. We “build up” the idea of the pull-ups (they have princesses on them!!!) and the panties (wow! only big girls get to wear those!!!) and start going potty…..if she doesn’t make any progress after a couple days….we put it off, and wait a month or two before trying again. I am not going to stress it! When it’s time, it’s time.

So I’m trying and waiting (and yes, hoping) that this will be it! But if not, no big deal! We got time!

So this is my plan …. feel free to disagree …. or better yet, feel free to come PROVE your plan works …. I still have two in diapers!!!!

Five Special Blessings to Me Today: Blueberries, Babies, Breezes, A Bountiful Crop, Betsy’s wedding coming up very soon!

Have a Blessed Day!

Leave a Reply

