I Have Been Blessed

All about how God has blessed me. In my marriage, with my six children, through homeschooling, and our faith with recipes, large family living, and updates on our life.

Riding an Elephant

on April 4, 2011

My Maddy loves Elephants. She wants a pet Elephant. She wants to ride an Elephant. (Or so she said.) A few weeks ago the Fair was in town and Mom called me excitedly (4 times) to tell me there were Elephant rides at the Fair. I talked to Maddy about it again. I told her how BIG an Elephant was. How Tall. “Are you sure you want to ride an Elephant, Maddy?” Yes, Mommy. But then, unfortunately, it didn’t work out for us to go the Fair.

But a very kind and generous lady gave us tickets to the Circus. Saturday was the Circus. The kids loved it! (Especially seeing the Elephants, especially the baby (5 year old) one, with the little girl who walked around with it!) There were also tigers, acrobats, trapeze, a four-wheeler tricks (Brendyn’s favorite part), Unicyclers, Clowns, Monkeys, Even dogs and cats who did acts in the circus! And Grammy bought them popcorn, and a light-up sword/wand. Her and I took Bren, Tyler, Maddy and Addy.

During the intermission, what do they announce, but a chance to ride the Elephant. Mom looked at me, I shrugged, we paraded down to the three rings. We get down there and I pull Maddy aside. She is at this point, in awe at seeing the Elephants so close, and

Yes, she does want to ride it! So does Tyler, and Adreya. Not Brendyn! I decide to pass on Adreya (I was afraid she might fall off!!) So we let Tyler and Maddy go. Madelynne loved it! LOVED it! As soon as she got up there, she leaned down to pet and touch and stroke the Elephant (She felt like an Elephant!!!).

She was ear to ear smiling the whole time. At one point Tyler was holding on to the rope with one hand, and with the other hand was holding Madelynne against him (They are kid 2 and 3 in the picture). I thought, “That is the sweetest thing ever, him holding on to her, protecting her. He doesn’t want her to fall off.” I asked him about it afterwards. He said “Madelynne was holding on better than me, and I didn’t want to fall off!!” There goes that theory! It was sweet regardless. Maybe I’ll just pretend I never asked him!

It was a great day. Even on the ride home (over an hour and half), they still had the excitement built up in them, and chatted about everything!

I am so Blessed!

Five Special Blessings to Me Today: My children, My Mom, My husband, An almost clean house, The beautiful weather we are having today!

Have a Blessed Day!

One response to “Riding an Elephant

  1. jenny says:

    love it! so happy she got the opportunity to ride an elephant. tyler is too funny 🙂

Leave a Reply

