I Have Been Blessed

All about how God has blessed me. In my marriage, with my six children, through homeschooling, and our faith with recipes, large family living, and updates on our life.

Canning Crazy

on March 31, 2011

Monday it rained, and rained, and rained, and then rained some more. People don’t really go to Flea Markets in the rain. Which means, we didn’t sell all our vegetables. It wasn’t a huge loss, but we brought home 25 Red Peppers and 60 Cucumber Pickles that had to be “put up” so they didn’t go to waste.

Up until now, my canning experience has been limited to Strawberry Jam. I’ve canned it once with sugar, once with Splenda. Luckily, for Christmas, I got the “Ball: Complete Book of Home Preserving”. I looked up the recipe for pickles and then I looked up Red Peppers!! And then I caned, and canned, and canned, and canned some more. I made Dill Pickles, Bread and Butter Pickles, Red Pepper Jelly, Balsamic Red Pepper Glaze, Salsa, and Red Pepper Spread. (A lot of Red Pepper Spread).

It was a long day, but there is some peace in seeing those canned goods line my shelf. Knowing that I did that. That I am helping prepare my family for the future. But please, don’t mention Red Peppers to me for a month, or at least two weeks.

Five Special Blessings to Me Today: Canning, Recipe books with detailed instructions, Home-made pickles (finally tasted some today!), Electricity (we lost it for 3 hours yesterday!), God’s Provision

Have a Blessed Day!

Leave a Reply

