I Have Been Blessed

All about how God has blessed me. In my marriage, with my six children, through homeschooling, and our faith with recipes, large family living, and updates on our life.

Unit Studies

on March 16, 2011

We homeschool. So far we have been buying a pre-packaged, all in one homeschool curriculum. We have done both Abeka and Bob Jones. But it is expensive. This coming year, Maddy would be doing formal school too – three times the curriculum costs. So we have decided to branch out.

Unit Studies seems to be an interesting option for us. Basically you (or the children) choose a topic and you study the heck out of it. And everybody is studying the same thing at the same time, but on their own level….

For an easy example, maybe we are reading One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish – maybe Wyatt will point to all the fish he sees, Addy will point to all the red fish, Maddy will read the word fish everytime she sees it, Tyler will add up all the numbers he finds, and Brendyn can learn about the anatomy of a fish. (This is a simplistic off-the-top-of-my-head example!)

I have been poring endlessly online and in magazines etc. to get us some Good Ideas for what to study, how to study, what needs to be included, what doesn’t. I have looked up benchmarks, unit studies, monthly themes, lapbooks, notebooking, good books for us to read, etc. etc. etc. I have been figuring out how to cross teach so I can include the little ones, all the way up to Bren being in fifth grade this year (5th!!!).

And the closer this school year gets to closing, the More Excited I am about next year. About branching out and trying new things for next year. I get really excited about Curriculum (is that the teacher in me?!?!)

(They even gave me this year’s VBS Curriculum, and I have already started poring over it to decide the Best Way to tach the lessons – what visuals can I use, what incentives, what real-life application?!?!)

I would really like to do a yearly theme and each month we learn something new on the theme, or build onto the theme, or something. I haven’t quite got it all figured out yet! (Maybe like Missionaries, or Fruits of the Spirit, or something….).

If you have any good ideas of something for us to study, a Good Yearly Theme, or just want to say Hi, leave a comment!

Five Special Blessings to Me today: My Education (although I am not teaching at a Public School, I praise God for the opportunity to have went to college to be a teacher because it so enhances my abilities in teaching my children), My Mom (thanks for all the things you taught me that schools didn’t), My children (my guinea pigs, for letting me try out the best ways to get you to learn everything you need to know!), The Internet (seriously, don’t know how people did this twenty years ago), God (for giving me the gift of Teaching)

Hope you have a Blessed (Doubly Blessed) Day!

2 responses to “Unit Studies

  1. With your children so close together in age, it should be easy for you to plan units they can do together. Our children do 4 subjects a day (each includes more than one element): Bible, language arts, math, and unit study. Check out the archives on my blog for unit study ideas (a sample year plan for young children), sample units, etc.
    Blessings,
    Susan Lemons http://www.susanlemons.wordpress.com
    Homeschooling mom of 4
    Author, Homepreschool and Beyond

  2. GoldStudent is a fun, easy and effective online math enrichment and assistance program for students K-6.
    We have just launched our Free Trial!
    You can now create an account without any charges!
    Check it out at http://www.goldstudent.com/

Leave a Reply

