I Have Been Blessed

All about how God has blessed me. In my marriage, with my six children, through homeschooling, and our faith with recipes, large family living, and updates on our life.

I Believe in Santa’s Cause

on November 30, 2010

When I was a kid my Mom LOVED The Statler Brothers. The first present I remember helping my Dad choose for my Mom was a Statler Record. (Yes, I am old enough to remember records – vaguely!) The Statler’s sing the song “I Believe in Santa’s Cause”. Me too.

Over the years, many people have asked us how we do Santa, or how we handle Santa or if we do Santa. Here’s my answer and the reasoning behind it. First, I don’t think Christmas has to be either/or. I don’t think that you have to choose Santa or Celebrating Christ’s birth.

With our kids, we have always put the emphasis of Christmas on Jesus and his birth. We read the Christmas story to our children before they open any presents. We have been known to bake Birthday cakes and sing Happy Birthday to Jesus. We have participated in Birthday Gifts to Jesus, Christmas plays about Jesus, and will attend church next year on Christmas Day since it falls on a Sunday.

But we still let our kids believe in Santa. I’m not sure who came up with the idea that believing in a little make-believe is bad for children. We let our children watch TV where animals talk, movies where flowers have feelings, we think it’s fine when they pretend they are Daddy by putting on Daddy’s shoes, that they are the Mommy to a baby-doll. Make Believe is a part of being a kid.

So how do we do it? Well, we don’t lie to our kids. If asked point-blank if Santa exists, I reroute the question and answer. “Well, what do you think?” Brendyn and I have had many conversations that solely exist of his thoughts on the subject. Our kids have never even received Christmas presents from Santa. They have seen him at Restaurants, Fire Stations, and the Mall. They think that Santa has helpers that dress up to be in lots of places to visit kids while the “real” Santa is at the North Pole making toys.

Tyler covers his bases completely. If he sees something he wants, he just says it out loud. “Then God will hear and tell Santa.”

Five Special Blessings to Me today: Kids who are young enough to still have child-like faith, Jesus who is the Reason for the Season, Opportunities to work, Kids who are excited when Mommy comes home, a new cell phone.

Have a wonderfully Blessed Day.

2 responses to “I Believe in Santa’s Cause

  1. Ginni says:

    Well you know I’m a firm believer in Santa and Santa’s Cause! (One of my favorite songs by the way!). I think it’s part of the fun and I have loved every Santa interaction the kids have been involved in. I think Santa can be taken to the extreme and made to be too important but I agree that he’s just another character like Woody and Buzz, Thomas the Train, the Veggie Tale people, Rudolph and Frosty the Snowman. Kids know the difference … it’s just adults that struggle.

  2. Misty Brown says:

    Hi Christina! Followed your link from CMOMB. LOVE this post. Thank you!!!

Leave a Reply

